Entries in Facebook (374)

Saturday
Nov172018

Facebook Messenger begins rollout of its unsend feature to mobile users

After testing out the much requested unsend option for Facebook’s default messaging app, the feature is now rolling out to some markets—namely Poland, Bolivia, Colombia, and Lithuania—with plans to bring it to more markets as soon as possible. It’s officially being called “Remove for Everyone” and it’s available for both iOS and Android versions of Facebook Messenger app. Messages can be removed from a recipient’s inbox within the first 10 minutes after it’s been delivered. (No, it won’t work with old messages sent years ago.) And when you do choose to remove a message, a tombstone will be kept in its place to let everyone in the thread know you deleted a message. Facebook will also retain the messages for a few minutes after they are unsent to make sure you can still report it. The social network thinks this is one way to dissuade bullies from using the feature to harass other users.

Once the feature goes live here, you can unsend a message by tapping and holding on it. As long as you’re within the 10-second timeframe, you’ll see the options Remove for Everyone and Remove for You. If you decide to remove it for all users, you’ll get a pop-up that’ll alert you that the message will be permanently removed but can still be reported. Other unsend features are also reportedly being developed for Messenger, including being able to let a thread expire after a certain amount of time with all the messages being erased as well as being able to set individual messages to expire in a thread after a set time.

Source: BGR

Friday
Nov092018

Facebook puts a stop to forced arbitration for its sexual harassment complaints

Embed from Getty Images

Joining the list of tech companies that have put a stop to the practice, Facebook will no longer force its employees to settle sexual harassment claims via private arbitration. According to Facebook’s Vice President of People Lori Goler, they want to be “part of taking the next step” at this “pivotal moment” in the tech industry. The company also updated its policy on dating among employees. Executives are required to disclose any romantic relationships they have with other employees, even if they don’t oversee the work of said employee. At the moment, Facebook isn’t sharing any other changes in its policies when it comes to its internal harassment policies. Companies like Microsoft, Uber, Lyft, and recently Google have all dropped its forced arbitration clauses.

Source: The Verge

Saturday
Oct132018

Here’s how you can check if your Facebook data was accessed in recently discovered hack

A recently discovered Facebook hack has affected millions of its users but the social network hasn’t shared what type of information was accessed—until today. The company has detailed what type of information was accessed during that wide-scale hack. And these include users’ names, email addresses, phone number, and other personal details like locations, religion, etc. The data on 29 million people were viewed and Facebook shared how you can see if your data was seen. You can check this page on Facebook’s Help Center to see if your account was affected. If it was, you’ll see the message above and it’ll show what information of yours was accessed.

Click to read more ...

Saturday
Oct132018

Facebook tests unsend feature on Messenger

Earlier this year, Facebook talked about how it secretly deleted some old messages sent on Messenger by its CEO and founder Mark Zuckerberg. It wasn’t a feature that was available to normal Facebook users, though. When we deleted messages on the Messenger app, it gets deleted from our end but stays in the recipient’s inbox. Around April, Facebook said it was working on implementing this feature for all users but didn’t give a timeframe for its implementation. Now, it looks like the company is testing it out. Tech tipster Jane Manchun Wong tweeted screencaps of the unsend feature appearing on an Android device.

A prompt to “Unsend Message” shows up above the “Delete Message” option when you try to edit a message sent in a conversation. If you choose to unsend the message, a pop-up will appear to confirm the choice. It says “Your message will be removed from the chat, and you.” According to Wong, there will be a time limit for when you can unsend a message, similar to the 30-second window you get for Gmail. She didn’t specify though how long Messenger’s unsend time limit is.

Source: The Verge